Bordeaux — Vigo

Startharbour: Bordeaux
Boarding after: 24.10.2016 00:00
Departure: 24.10.2016 12:00
Port of destination: Vigo
Arrival: 03.11.2016 12:00
Debarkation before:
Days on board: 10
Suggested donation towards jorney expenses: 590€

The length of the trip from French Bordeaux to Spanish Vigo is about 550 miles. In the Bay of Biscay, habitually rowdy in the Fall, we are going to have 10 days of sea challenges, tons of unique practical experience and carefully selected theoretical knowledge. We anticipate a visit to Bilbao or Santander and a few sheltered anchorages in the coves by Cape Finisterre along the way.


Bilbao has changed tremendously when the Guggenheim Museum was built. There are multiple parks and picnic areas along the river, the old city center has been cleaned up and turned into a postcard image that makes you want to explore in detail all seven medieval streets, tapas-bars, gothic cathedrals and colorful marketplaces. Santander on the other hand is called the social capital of dreamlike Cantabria. They say, at all times Spanish royalty used Santander as their special vacation place as the city is crowded with breathtakingly beautiful parks and squares.

Cape Finisterre has a story of its’ own. In the Middle Ages people believed that the Earth was flat. And they would walk across the whole Europe to Cape Finisterre on the North-Western coast of Spain to look at the end of the Earth. The name of the cape comes from two Latin words: finis and terrae, end of the Earth. Every evening modern pilgrims watch the sunset over the ocean and remember the weeks (if not months) of their pilgrimage. To complete the ceremony they burn their shoes or clothes on the rocky back of the End of the Earth, thus symbolizing the end of their long and hard journey.

Seamanship-wise, Cape Finisterre is world famous for its’ storms. So we didn’t just chose it willy-nilly for our storm training.

Shtandart’s “Storm course” syllabus:

1. Storms and yachting: stats, facts, myths.

2. How not to get into a storm.

- Weather. Forecasts and forecast evaluation.
- Understanding the nature of the storms.
- Escaping the storm at sea (including a case study without communication and modern navigation technology, «eyeballing»).

3. Weathering the storm. What do you do if you did get into it?

- How to prepare the boat and the crew. Necessary supplies. Case studies: private boat and charter boat.
- Last minute storm preparation, making do with what you have.
- GMDSS. Modern systems and marine rescue services.
- Tricks for weathering the storm.

Authors and speakers:

- Vladimir Martus, Captain of the frigate Shtandart. Seamanship experience over 35 years, hundreds of thousands of miles, RYA Yachtmaster Offshore, RYA Yachtmaster Instructor.
- Dmitry Ryabchikov, professional seafarer, RYA Yachtmaster Offshore. Crossed both Atlantic and Pacific oceans, hundreds of thousands of miles on small boats and huge cruise tall ships.

- Andrey Sosnin, professional seafarer, YIT instructor, RYA Yachtmaster Coastal. Made a Transatlantic trip USA-Portugal -Turkey on a 9-meter boat that he got on E-bay for $6 000.


How do I get to Bordeaux: There’s a regular train service from Paris to Bordeaux www.voyages-sncf.com. Get your tickets early and you can save substantially. Taking a bus is a cheaper but longer option.

How do I get to Vigo: There are Iberia flights from Moscow to Vigo with one or more overlays. You can also take a bus or a train from Porto (~100 km) or from Santiago de Compostela, the capital of Galicia, (~90 km). If you live in Europe, Iberia has flights Madrid-Vigo.

Social network links:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1087823147971808/

https://vk.com/event127919127

*No seamanship training is required.

** If you are a popular blogger with more than 7000 readers, we offer a discount, up to free participation, in exchange for your posts about the trip. Send your application with the links to your blog or public page and a short essay about yourself to press-center@shtandart.ru. This is a competitive offer.

Бордо — Виго

Порт отплытия: Бордо
Посадка: 24.10.2016
Отплытие: 24.10.2016 12:00
Порт назначения: Виго
Прибытие: 03.11.2016 12:00
Высадка: 04.11.2016
Дней на борту: 10
Ориентировочная величина взноса на организацию плавания: 590€

Переход из французского Бордо в испанский Виго протяженностью около 550 миль. В традиционно буйном осеннем Бискайском заливе нас ждут 10 дней морских испытаний, масса уникального практического опыта и точно подобранных теоретических знаний. В пути мы прогнозируем возможные заходы в Бильбао или Сантандер, стоянки на якоре в защищенных бухтах у мыса Финистерре.

Бильбао - город, который резко преобразившийся с появлением музея Гуггенхайма. Здесь вдоль реки – парки и зоны отдыха, а старый центр вычищен и превращен в туристическую открытку, на которой детально хочется изучить все семь средневековых улиц, тапас-бары, готические церкви и пестрые рынки. А вот Сантандер называют светской столицей сказочной Кантабрии. Говорят, во все времена и эпохи испанские короли выбирали Сантандер местом своего отдыха, так как город просто утопает в многочисленных парках и скверах потрясающей красоты.

А мыс Финистерре заслуживает отдельного внимания. В Средневековье люди всерьез верили что Земля плоская. Чтобы посмотреть на ее край, они ходили пешком через всю Европу к мысу Финистерре на северо-западном побережье Испании. Собственно название мыса – это сочетания латинских слов finis и terrae, конец земли. Каждый вечер современные пилигримы встречают тут закат над океаном и вспоминают недели, а то и месяцы своего паломничества. В завершении же этой церемонии каждый сжигает на каменном склоне Края Земли свою обувь или одежду, символически отметив тем самым окончание своего тяжелого и долгого пути.


А по морской части мыс Финистерре славится своими штормами. Так что наш выбор места проведения штормового тренинга не случаен.

Учебная программа «Штормового курса» Штандарта:

1. Штормовая погода и яхтинг: статистика, факты и мифы.

2. Как не попасть в шторм?

- Погода. Прогнозы и их оценка.
- Понимание природы штормов.
- Уход от шторма в море (в том числе без связи и современных средств навигации, «на глаз»).

3. Штормование. Как быть, если «попал»?

- Предварительная подготовка лодки и экипажа, снабжения.
Случаи собственной и чартерной яхт.
- Подготовка к штормованию в последний момент, с использованием подручных материалов.
- ГМССБ. Современные системы и службы спасения в море.
- Приемы штормования.

Авторы и спикеры тренинга:

- Владимир Мартусь, капитан фрегата Штандарт. Опыт мореплавания больше 35 лет, сотни тысяч морских миль, RYA Yahtmaster Ofshore, RYA Yachtmaster Instructor.
- Дмитрий Рябчиков, профессиональный судоводитель, RYA Yachtmaser offshore. За спиной пересечения Атлантического и Тихого океанов, сотни тысяч миль на маленьких яхтах и огромных круизных парусниках.
- Андрей Соснин , профессиональный судоводитель, инструктор YIT. Подготовил и осуществил трансатлантический переход США – Лиссабон – Турция на 9-ти метровой яхте, приобретенной на E-bay за 6 000$. 

   

Как добраться до Бордо: из Парижа в Бордо регулярно ходят поезда www.voyages-sncf.com. Чем раньше покупается билет, тем ощутимо дешевле на него бывает цена. Еще один вариант - это дорога на автобусе: бюджетно, но больше времени в пути в сравнении с поездом.

Как добраться до Виго: из Москвы есть стыковочные рейсы Иберии сразу до Виго. Можно добраться до Виго из Порту (около 100 км), либо из столицы Галисии Сантьяго-де-Компостела (около 90км) автобусом или электричкой. Для живущих в Европе можно добраться рейсами Иберии Мадрид-Виго.

О переходе в социальных сетях:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1087823147971808/

https://vk.com/event127919127

*На этот переход нужна шенгенская виза.

**Специальная морская подготовка на переход не требуется.

***Популярным блогерам — скидка, вплоть до бесплатного участия в обмен на посты о плавании. Количество подписчиков — от 7000, заявки со ссылками на блог или паблик, личные страницы плюс короткий рассказ о себе присылайте на press-center@shtandart.ru (рассматриваются на конкурсных условиях).